Programmable Logic Control and Automation Short Course 1

Overview

This course introduces programmable logic controller (PLC) technology and industrial control devices used in automation. The focus is on PLC hardware configuration and programming methods using basic logic functions.

Course content

The course covers:
• PLC system components
• Interfacing input/output devices
• CPU configuration
• Program organisation
• Memory concepts, addressing, and data types
• Programming in Ladder and Function Block Diagram
• HMI panel integration
• Online interaction with the CPU
• Monitoring program execution and diagnostics.

Ideal for

This course is suitable for varying backgrounds ranging from beginners with no knowledge of programmable logic controllers (PLCs), to practitioners wanting to extend their experience with additional platforms.

Important Information

The following software and hardware are used;
• Siemens TIA Portal V15 and SIMATIC S7-1500 controller with CPU1516 3PN/DP
• Omron CX-One V4.0 and SYSMAC CJ2M controller with CPU31.

More information

Outcome

At the end of this course, participants will be able to select and configure PLC hardware, and create and maintain programs for small machine/process applications with discrete process devices.

Pre-requisites

There are no prerequisites, however a mechanical or electrical aptitude or background is desirable.

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Participants are required to have a cloud storage account or bring a USB flash drive (min 4GB) for program file storage.

Award

Participants who successful complete the training will be issued
with a Certificate of Attendance.

Additional notes

The course encompasses working safely, identifying supply arrangements, following isolation procedures, selecting and using testing and measuring devices, terminating and connecting cables and conductors, safety testing and reporting.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Wednesday 28 August 2019

  • Code S130054
  • Start date 28.08.19
  • End date 02.10.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT
  • Fee $720.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 28.08.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 04.09.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 11.09.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 18.09.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 25.09.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 02.10.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00

Wednesday 16 October 2019

  • Code S130054
  • Start date 16.10.19
  • End date 20.11.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT
  • Fee $720.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 16.10.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 23.10.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 30.10.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 06.11.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 13.11.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00
Wed 20.11.19 05:30pm 09:30pm 4.00

Learn more

Share