AutoCAD - Level 1

Overview

This course is a comprehensive introduction to creating 2D drawings using AutoCAD software. The course focuses on basic drafting techniques and is structured to suit users across a broad range of industries. Content is delivered in a variety of modes including theory, demonstrations and practical work, with participants gaining hands-on experience with AutoCAD through a series of practical exercises.

Course content

  • Introduction to the AutoCAD interface
  • Setting up drawings and templates
  • Drawing techniques using various coordinate entry methods and OSNAP
  • Efficient use of 2D drawing and editing commands
  • Exploring display commands (ZOOM, PAN etc)
  • Re-using drawing elements - Blocks and WBlocks
  • Text, dimensioning and hatching
  • Organising the drawing with Layers
  • Setting up Layouts for Plotting
  • Methods for efficiency and speed in drawing

Ideal for

The course will suit people who are interested in developing computer-aided drafting and design skill using AutoCAD. The course focuses on basic drawing techniques, so will suit users across a broad range of industries.

More information

Outcome

On completion, participants should have developed a good understanding of the functions and applications of AutoCAD for the preparation of 2D CAD drawings (including both practical experience and theory).

Pre-requisites

No previous experience in AutoCAD is required; however a practical understanding of PC operation and the Windows environment is essential.

Materials supplied

Comprehensive course notes.

Materials to bring

Course notes are provided but a pen is useful. Students should also bring a flash drive (4GB +) for transferring and storing files.

Award

Autodesk and RMIT Statement of Participation (80% attendance required)

Additional notes

All our trainers are professional Architects, Engineers, Building, Industrial or Interior Designers with extensive AutoCAD experience. They are also Autodesk registered trainers. Many teach in related programs at RMIT. RMIT University is an Autodesk Authorised Training Centre.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 07 October 2017

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 07.10.17
  • End date 28.10.17
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $920.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 07.10.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 14.10.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 21.10.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 28.10.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Saturday 04 November 2017

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 04.11.17
  • End date 25.11.17
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $920.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 04.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 11.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 18.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 25.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Monday 13 November 2017

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 13.11.17
  • End date 16.11.17
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $920.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 13.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Tue 14.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Wed 15.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Thu 16.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Monday 27 November 2017

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 27.11.17
  • End date 30.11.17
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $920.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 27.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Tue 28.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Wed 29.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Thu 30.11.17 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Learn more

Share