AutoCAD - Level 1

Overview

This course is a comprehensive introduction to creating 2D drawings using AutoCAD (Windows) software. The course focuses on basic drafting techniques and is structured to suit users across a broad range of industries. Content is delivered in a variety of modes including theory, demonstrations and practical work, with participants gaining hands-on experience with AutoCAD through a series of practical exercises.

Course content

  • Introduction to the AutoCAD interface
  • Setting up drawings and templates
  • Drawing techniques using various coordinate entry methods and OSNAP
  • Efficient use of 2D drawing and editing commands
  • Exploring display commands (ZOOM, PAN etc)
  • Re-using drawing elements - Blocks and WBlocks
  • Text, dimensioning and hatching
  • Organising the drawing with Layers
  • Setting up Layouts for Plotting
  • Methods for efficiency and speed in drawing

Ideal for

The course will suit people who are interested in developing computer-aided drafting and design skill using AutoCAD. The course focuses on basic drawing techniques, so will suit users across a broad range of industries.

More information

Outcome

On completion, participants should have developed a good understanding of the functions and applications of AutoCAD for the preparation of 2D CAD drawings (including both practical experience and theory).

Pre-requisites

Basic computer skills are essential. Must be comfortable using software in Windows environment, navigating the internet & be able to use file storage networks
No prior knowledge of AutoCAD is required.

Materials supplied

Comprehensive course notes.

Materials to bring

Course notes are provided but a pen is useful. Students should also bring a flash drive (4GB +) for transferring and storing files.

Award

Autodesk and RMIT Statement of Participation (80% attendance required)

Additional notes

All our trainers are professional Architects, Engineers, Building, Industrial or Interior Designers with extensive AutoCAD experience. They are also Autodesk registered trainers. Many teach in related programs at RMIT. RMIT University is an Autodesk Authorised Training Centre.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 09 March 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 09.03.19
  • End date 30.03.19
  • Hours 28
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 09.03.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 16.03.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 23.03.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 30.03.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Wednesday 01 May 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 01.05.19
  • End date 19.06.19
  • Hours 26
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 01.05.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 08.05.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 15.05.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 22.05.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 29.05.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 05.06.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 12.06.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 19.06.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25

Saturday 04 May 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 04.05.19
  • End date 25.05.19
  • Hours 28
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 04.05.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 11.05.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 18.05.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 25.05.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Saturday 01 June 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 01.06.19
  • End date 22.06.19
  • Hours 28
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 01.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 08.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 15.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 22.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Monday 24 June 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 24.06.19
  • End date 27.06.19
  • Hours 28
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 24.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Tue 25.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Wed 26.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Thu 27.06.19 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Wednesday 10 July 2019

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 10.07.19
  • End date 28.08.19
  • Hours 26
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $980.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 10.07.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 17.07.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 24.07.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 31.07.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 07.08.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 14.08.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 21.08.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 28.08.19 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25

Learn more

Share