AutoCAD - Level 1

Overview

This course is a comprehensive introduction to creating 2D drawings using AutoCAD software. The course focuses on basic drafting techniques and is structured to suit users across a broad range of industries. Content is delivered in a variety of modes including theory, demonstrations and practical work, with participants gaining hands-on experience with AutoCAD through a series of practical exercises.

Course content

  • Introduction to the AutoCAD interface
  • Setting up drawings and templates
  • Drawing techniques using various coordinate entry methods and OSNAP
  • Efficient use of 2D drawing and editing commands
  • Exploring display commands (ZOOM, PAN etc)
  • Re-using drawing elements - Blocks and WBlocks
  • Text, dimensioning and hatching
  • Organising the drawing with Layers
  • Setting up Layouts for Plotting
  • Methods for efficiency and speed in drawing

Ideal for

The course will suit people who are interested in developing computer-aided drafting and design skill using AutoCAD. The course focuses on basic drawing techniques, so will suit users across a broad range of industries.

More information

Outcome

On completion, participants should have developed a good understanding of the functions and applications of AutoCAD for the preparation of 2D CAD drawings (including both practical experience and theory).

Pre-requisites

Basic computer skills are essential. Must be comfortable using software, navigating the internet & be able to use file storage networks.
No prior knowledge of this software is required.

Materials supplied

Comprehensive course notes.

Materials to bring

Course notes are provided but a pen is useful. Students should also bring a flash drive (4GB +) for transferring and storing files.

Award

Autodesk and RMIT Statement of Participation (80% attendance required)

Additional notes

All our trainers are professional Architects, Engineers, Building, Industrial or Interior Designers with extensive AutoCAD experience. They are also Autodesk registered trainers. Many teach in related programs at RMIT. RMIT University is an Autodesk Authorised Training Centre.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Monday 29 January 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 29.01.18
  • End date 01.02.18
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 29.01.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Tue 30.01.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Wed 31.01.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Thu 01.02.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Saturday 03 February 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 03.02.18
  • End date 24.02.18
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 03.02.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 10.02.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 17.02.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 24.02.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Wednesday 07 February 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 07.02.18
  • End date 28.03.18
  • Hours 26.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 07.02.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 14.02.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 21.02.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 28.02.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 07.03.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 14.03.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 21.03.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 28.03.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25

Saturday 10 March 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 10.03.18
  • End date 31.03.18
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 10.03.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 17.03.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 24.03.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 31.03.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Saturday 28 April 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 28.04.18
  • End date 19.05.18
  • Hours 28.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 28.04.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 05.05.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 12.05.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00
Sat 19.05.18 09:00am 05:00pm 7.00

Wednesday 02 May 2018

  • Code S320001
  • Start date 02.05.18
  • End date 20.06.18
  • Hours 26.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $950.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 02.05.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 09.05.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 16.05.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 23.05.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 30.05.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 06.06.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 13.06.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25
Wed 20.06.18 06:00pm 09:15pm 3.25

Learn more

Share