Foundation Colour

Overview

This unit offers an introduction to the foundation of colour. Students will be introduced to the basic concepts of colour through mixing and adjusting colours and applying the principles to an interior design scheme. Students complete a range of painting exercises and projects investigating colour and how it can be used.

Course content

  • The Grey Scale – Paper
  • The Achromatic Grey Scale – Gouache Paint
  • Warm/Cool Colour Wheel – Gouache Paint
  • Tints/Pastels/Shades/Tones
  • Major Colour Groups
  • The Colour of Others
  • Balance and Proportion
  • Warm and Cool – Advance and Recede Mandala
  • Valerie’s Victorian Arches
  • I’m Inspired

Ideal for

This course would be suitable to anyone who has an interest and passion for colour. It is also suitable for people who work in the field of colour, including interior designers, fashion designers, make up designers and graphic designers.

More information

Outcome

On completion of the course you will gain an understanding of the fundamentals of colour. You will learn how to mix colours and how colours can be used to manipulate the feel and proportions of a space. You will also learn how to combine colours to create a space that is perfect for you.

Pre-requisites

No prior knowledge or experience is necessary.

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

  • Scissors
  • Ruler
  • HB Pencil
  • Glue stick
  • Blue tac

You will be advised of paint and brushes required in first session. The purpose of this is to ensure that students purchase consistent study materials

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

Course Presenter:

Ambuja has worked in the design industry for over 20 years and is currently working for an architect who specialises in education and high end residential properties. She has worked with textile companies and had 3 years designing rugs. During this time she also studied Textile design at RMIT. She studied in London and has worked for designers in London and Paris, Sydney and Melbourne

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Wednesday 13 March 2019

  • Code S320166
  • Start date 13.03.19
  • End date 15.05.19
  • Hours 30
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 13.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 20.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 27.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 03.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 10.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 17.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 24.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 01.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 08.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 15.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Wednesday 03 July 2019

  • Code S320166
  • Start date 03.07.19
  • End date 11.09.19
  • Hours 30
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 03.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 10.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 17.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 24.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 31.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 14.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 21.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 28.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 04.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 11.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share