Adobe Illustrator - Level 1

Overview

This course focuses on learning the fundamental tools and functions of Adobe Illustrator, the premier vector software for the creation of graphics. Logos, poster, packaging and digital illustrations are all ideal projects for Illustrator. It is also the perfect tool for character design and animation layout. Participants will learn to create graphic images through hands-on projects.

Course content

  • Tools palette and their functions
  • Menus
  • Layers
  • File formats
  • Pen tool
  • Pathfinder
  • Cutting/Averaging/Joining Live Trace
  • Live Paint
  • Clipping Paths
  • Compound Paths
  • Curves and grids
  • Manipulating type and objects
  • Gradient blends
  • Swatches
  • Patterns
  • Brushes Filters and special effects
  • Trapping
  • Preparing for print

Ideal for

This course is designed for anyone who needs to create digital artwork for printing, for graphic artists, textile artists and illustrators and animators. Participants with 'a working knowledge' of Illustrator will also find this course very useful as it aims to go beyond the basics very quickly.

More information

Outcome

Participants will have an understanding of the requirements in preparing images and a sound awareness of Adobe Illustrator.

Pre-requisites

Basic computer skills are essential. Must be comfortable using software, navigating the internet & be able to use file storage networks.
No prior knowledge of this software is required.

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Pen and paper, a flash drive.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

Classes are delivered in a Macintosh environment. Experienced PC users will find the transition easy.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 09 February 2019

  • Code S320181
  • Start date 09.02.19
  • End date 09.03.19
  • Hours 17.50
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 09.02.19 09:00am 12:30pm 3.50
Sat 16.02.19 09:00am 12:30pm 3.50
Sat 23.02.19 09:00am 12:30pm 3.50
Sat 02.03.19 09:00am 12:30pm 3.50
Sat 09.03.19 09:00am 12:30pm 3.50

Tuesday 30 April 2019

  • Code S320181
  • Start date 30.04.19
  • End date 04.06.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Brunswick
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 30.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 07.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 14.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 21.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 28.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 04.06.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share