Japanese Aesthetics: From Flower Arrangements to Contemporary Art

Overview

You will explore the world of Japanese aesthetics through theory & practical exercises. In each lesson, students will work in groups to analyse the application of elements & principles of design in a variety of traditional Japanese aesthetic expressions - gardens, food presentations, architecture & kimono. Students will then apply those lessons in practical activities. In some of your lessons, you will apply those aesthetic principles with Ikebana, the art of Japanese flower arranging. In other lessons students will work with other media to expand their artistic boundaries.

Course content

  • Introduction to Japanese aesthetics
  • Basic Ikebana
  • Elements and principles of design in Ikebana
  • Japanese attitudes towards nature
  • Wabi-Sabi and the Japanese tea house
  • Analysis and discussion of various artworks and Japanese designs
  • Practical exercises applying the principals of Japanese aesthetics to mixed media projects

Ideal for

People who are interested in Japanese Art and Design, and Contemporary Art. Designers, artists and those with an interest in aesthetics who are keen to gain a practical understanding of Japanese aesthetics and Ikebana from a master practitioner. 

More information

Outcome

At the end of the course you will have gained an insight into the theory and practice of Japanese Ikebana. You will have a deeper understanding of the Japanese Aesthetic through the analysis of a number or art and design works that have reference to Japanese Art. You will be able to add another dimension to your own practice in whatever medium you work in.

Pre-requisites

This course is designed for beginners & has no required prior knowledge or experience. Be prepared to complete homework where you analyse an image of work & to share your findings in group discussions

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil and notebook.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

N/A

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Wednesday 13 February 2019

  • Code S320193
  • Start date 13.02.19
  • End date 20.03.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $480.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 13.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 20.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 27.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 06.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 13.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 20.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Wednesday 08 May 2019

  • Code S320193
  • Start date 08.05.19
  • End date 12.06.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $480.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 08.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 15.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 22.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 29.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 05.06.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 12.06.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Wednesday 14 August 2019

  • Code S320193
  • Start date 14.08.19
  • End date 18.09.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $480.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 14.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 21.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 28.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 04.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 11.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 18.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Wednesday 23 October 2019

  • Code S320193
  • Start date 23.10.19
  • End date 27.11.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $480.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 23.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 30.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 06.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 13.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 20.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 27.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share