2D Animation with Adobe Animate

Overview

This course is a comprehensive introduction to 2-dimensional animation using Adobe Animate, the premier vector software for digital animation. Participants will learn both software skills & the basics of animation through a series of hands-on projects.

In our media saturated times animation is an increasing important form of communication - for entertainment, advertising or to educate.  Animate your drawings, product illustrations or ideas so they come to life!

Animate projects can include simple character animation, animated logos, explainer videos & GIFs for Instagram & the web. 

 

Course content

  • Core principles of animation, including timing, squash & stretch
  • Animating text & graphic elements
  • Frame by frame digital animation
  • Rigging & animating a simple character
  • Symbols &groups
  • Using the timeline
  • Drawing tools
  • Managing an asset library
  • Exporting gifs & video formats

Ideal for

The course was created for people who are interested in creating 2 dimensional animation with Adobe Animate. The animations could be for artistic, marketing, informative or educational purposes.

This course will build on existing skills in digital image making, taking the next step into making those images move.

Participants are encouraged to bring an idea for a personal project to work on in this course.

Important Information

Students are encouraged to bring their own laptop with the installed software. If they are unable to, a laptop will be supplied for use in class.

More information

Outcome

On completion, participants should have developed a good understanding of how to use Adobe Animate to create a 2 dimensional animation.

Pre-requisites

Basic computer skills are essential. Must be comfortable navigating the internet and file storage networks.
A basic working knowledge of Illustrator or Photoshop is beneficial but not essential.

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil and notebook. Students are encouraged to bring their own laptop with the installed software. If they are unable to, a laptop will be supplied for use in class.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

N/A

Facilitator


Laura Stitzel

Laura Stitzel is an independent artist in Melbourne, Australia. She has been working as an illustrator, animator and author in Australia and Canada since 2008. Laura completed post-graduate study in Animation and Interactive Media at RMIT in Melbourne and studied classical drawing and painting at the New York Academy of Art.
Laura’s work has appeared in many children’s television shows such as Emmy Award winning Peg + Cat and Arthur. On Arthur, the world’s longest running children’s series, Laura was hired to develop a new method of background painting during its transition to digital production. Laura taught her methods to the studio staff in Toronto, where they continue to be used on the production today.

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 16 February 2019

  • Code S320233
  • Start date 16.02.19
  • End date 23.03.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 16.02.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 23.02.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 02.03.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 09.03.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 16.03.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 23.03.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00

Saturday 04 May 2019

  • Code S320233
  • Start date 04.05.19
  • End date 08.06.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 04.05.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 11.05.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 18.05.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 25.05.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 01.06.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 08.06.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00

Saturday 17 August 2019

  • Code S320233
  • Start date 17.08.19
  • End date 21.09.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 17.08.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 24.08.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 31.08.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 07.09.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 14.09.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 21.09.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00

Saturday 02 November 2019

  • Code S320233
  • Start date 02.11.19
  • End date 07.12.19
  • Hours 18.00
  • Campus Carlton
  • Fee $640.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 02.11.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 09.11.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 16.11.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 23.11.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 30.11.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00
Sat 07.12.19 01:30pm 04:30pm 3.00

Learn more

Share