Website Design 1 - The Full Overview

Overview

From concept development right through to delivery of a site, in this course you will acquire a solid overview of the skills required to design and create a website. Exploring a broad range of web development techniques and software, with html and the use of Dreamweaver you will soon have a comprehensive understanding of how to design and create a website.  Students can work on their personal project using the skills they acquire in class.

Course content

  • Understanding key concepts, naming conventions
  • Absolute and relative links, various protocols
  • Colour, screen resolutions, browser versions
  • Defining your site architecture – applying a user centric focus
  • Working with content – information, interaction and interface
  • Working with images
  • Designing layouts within browser and device constraints
  • Formatting content using CSS
  • Adding interactivity with JavaScript
  • Managing the website – testing and uploading
  • Promoting your website – the role of SEO
  • Introducing analytics; measuring the success of your website; creating an account
  • Work on personal project (Webpage)

Ideal for

This 10 week course is excellent for people wishing to get a complete view of how to design and put together a website. Perfect for designers from other disciplines wishing to expand their skills into web development or anyone with an interest in building their own site or modifying and updating an employer's.

Important Information

Students who have completed Website Design 1 will be eligible for a 10% discount on course fees for Website Design 2 - Beyond the Basics

More information

Outcome

You will look at various sites, define your own site architecture, design your website, and learn how to build a basic website for your personal project.

Materials used:

  • Mac computer (experience with a Mac is highly recommended)
  • USB drives
  • Software including: Adobe Dreamweaver, Adobe Fireworks, Adobe Photoshop.

Note: The course aim is not to teach software programs, but only to use them to achieve the course objectives.

Pre-requisites

MAC OS experience highly recommended.

Also an understanding of at least one software program - not necessarily related to web design - more an indicator of ability to use a MAC computer proficiently.  

Materials supplied

Mac computers and relevant software is included (experience with a Mac is highly recommended)

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil and notebook
USB memory stick

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation

Additional notes

Completion of this course will not guarantee entry into an RMIT Program.

Course Presenter - Lawrence D'Mello
Lawrence holds a Masters in Virtual Communication. He has also been a working professional for over 15 years, 11 of which he spent as a Senior Interaction Designer at Melbourne IT, a global company that has been delivering online solutions to various business segments. He has experience in the field of communication design and has crafted online experiences, with an emphasis on the User Experience.

Testimonial


  • Totally practical, engaging, challenging and I left every class feeling I had learnt something new. Kim

    Lawrence's engaging and friendly style of delivery. It's hard learning something new, but Lawrence was never condescending, instead, always very encouraging. Martina

    The instructor (Lawrence) was extremely knowledgeable and engaging throughout this 10-week course. I learned heaps more than expected. This course taught me the basics of web design, game me confidence to use dream weaver and even some helpful marketing tips & tricks. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to upskill or gain more knowledge in this space. Brianna

    Highly educational. Will recommend. Aminda

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Wednesday 07 February 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 07.02.18
  • End date 11.04.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 07.02.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 14.02.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 21.02.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 28.02.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 07.03.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 14.03.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 21.03.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 28.03.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 04.04.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 11.04.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Saturday 24 February 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 24.02.18
  • End date 24.03.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 24.02.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 03.03.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 10.03.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 17.03.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 24.03.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Wednesday 16 May 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 16.05.18
  • End date 18.07.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 16.05.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 23.05.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 30.05.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 06.06.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 13.06.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 20.06.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 27.06.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 04.07.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 11.07.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 18.07.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Saturday 16 June 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 16.06.18
  • End date 14.07.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 16.06.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 23.06.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 30.06.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 07.07.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 14.07.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Wednesday 25 July 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 25.07.18
  • End date 26.09.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 25.07.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 01.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 08.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 15.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 22.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 29.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 05.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 12.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 19.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 26.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Thursday 26 July 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 26.07.18
  • End date 27.09.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Thu 26.07.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 02.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 09.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 16.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 23.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 30.08.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 06.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 13.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 20.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Thu 27.09.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Wednesday 03 October 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 03.10.18
  • End date 05.12.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 03.10.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 10.10.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 17.10.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 24.10.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 31.10.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 07.11.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 14.11.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 21.11.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 28.11.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 05.12.18 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Saturday 06 October 2018

  • Code S345057
  • Start date 06.10.18
  • End date 03.11.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $1080.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 06.10.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 13.10.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 20.10.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 27.10.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 03.11.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Learn more

Share