Writing Creative Fiction 1 - Introduction

Overview

Is it time to bring out the writer in you? In this course you will develop an understanding of a range of fiction writing styles. You will be encouraged to develop and apply fiction writing skills of construction and criticism.

While the emphasis is on the development of short story and novel writing you will also examine the fundamentals of writing story across a broad range of genres and styles. Students who have studied Writing Creative Fiction 1 - Introduction are entitled to a 10% discount when enrolling into Writing Creative Fiction 2.

Course content

  • Purpose
  • Plot
  • Characterisation
  • Dialogue
  • Point of view
  • Setting
  • Style
  • Constructing narrative
  • Poetic concepts
  • Themes
  • Genres
  • 'Show don't tell' techniques
  • Developing your own style
  • Developing a viable project
  • Using your voice - public readings
  • Workshopping and constructive feedback
  • An insight into today's publishing industry

Ideal for

This course is designed to meet the needs of two groups: those who have little practical experience but are drawn to the idea of writing fiction and would like to better understand the essential principles of story, and those who already have a novel, short story, screenplay or other form of fiction writing under way and want to underpin their current writing with theory and skills.

Important Information

Completion of this course will not guarantee entry into an RMIT Program.

More information

Outcome

Upon completion, you will be able to describe characteristics of different writing styles/genres; describe fiction writing techniques; write short pieces of fiction as specified; constructively analyse and criticise original fiction writing.

It is expected that you will write during and between classes and share your writing with a committed to be given the opportunity to analyse your own and others' story outlines and to write in a supportive, constructive environment.

Pre-requisites

As writing talent is not necessarily bound to education experience, there is no formal qualification required by this course, only a genuine interest in taking your fiction writing to the next level.

Materials supplied

Course notes.

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil and notebook.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

N/A

Facilitator


Rachel Matthews

Dr Rachel Matthews is a Melbourne author, lecturer and VCE English teacher. Recently, she completed a PhD in creative writing (a novel and exegesis). Her critically acclaimed debut novel Vinyl Inside received strong press reviews and was highly commended by the Australian Vogel Award judges. Her short fiction has been published in EQ magazine, educational and writing journals. She has over 15 years’ experience as an educator within a diverse range of learning environments, including lecturing in RMIT's Associate Degree in Professional Writing and Editing, teaching within international settings and the RVIB. Rachel is also an experienced presenter with the Melbourne Writer’s festival, the Vic Association for Teachers of English State Conference and National Young Writer’s festival.

Ilka Tampke

Ilka Tampke is an author and teacher of fiction writing. Her critically-acclaimed debut novel, Skin, (Text Publishing) was shortlisted for the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2015 and has been sold into 8 countries.
Ilka has taught dance, drama and music, but her favourite subject to teach is writing and she is a popular guest-lecturer in RMIT’s Associate Degree of Professional Writing and Editing. She lives in the Macedon Ranges.

Testimonial


  • "I feel I have grown as a writer. It must be a huge challenge taking on diverse groups like ours, yet I think Rachel succeeded brilliantly in keeping our attention and engagement as one group, as witnessed by our attendance rates. Rachel is a wonderfully attentive and empathetic listener. She can pick out the gems from the gravel, give them back as shining diamonds, and deliver criticism constructively and positively." Tim

    Beautiful teacher, full of colour and insight and understanding. Helped spark my creativity throughout the course. Grouped together a bunch of people with passion and love for writing. Jessica

    This truly was a life changing experience for me. I will do everything in my power to live as a professional writer. Nathan

    Susie was the most inspiring & encouraging teacher I had ever  met. She treats each person as if they are special - Congratulations! Rosie

    I loved Susie Thatcher, her teaching style was supportive & nurturing & inspiring. I loved the course. Lisa

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Tuesday 29 January 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 29.01.19
  • End date 02.04.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 29.01.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 05.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 12.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 19.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 26.02.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 05.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 12.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 19.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 26.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 02.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 05 March 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 05.03.19
  • End date 14.05.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 05.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 12.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 19.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 26.03.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 02.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 09.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 16.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 30.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 07.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 14.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Thursday 04 April 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 04.04.19
  • End date 13.06.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Thu 04.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 11.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 18.04.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 02.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 09.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 16.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 23.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 30.05.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 06.06.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 13.06.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 16 July 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 16.07.19
  • End date 17.09.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 16.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 23.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 30.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 06.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 13.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 20.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 27.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 03.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 10.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 17.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 27 August 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 27.08.19
  • End date 29.10.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 27.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 03.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 10.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 17.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 24.09.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 01.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 08.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 15.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 22.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 29.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 08 October 2019

  • Code S345162
  • Start date 08.10.19
  • End date 17.12.19
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $870.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 08.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 15.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 22.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 29.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 12.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 19.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 26.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 03.12.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 10.12.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 17.12.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share