Copywriting in Action

Overview

Participants collaborate as a creative team co-writing a variety of projects. You're encouraged to bring your own writing project to class. Theory, strategy and creativity are put into practice generating ideas, articulating them into words and images, then structuring and writing copy according to the Anatomy of Body Copy. Your complimentary copy of Copywriting in Action will be your companion througout the course. See samples of Before & After Copywriting in Action works at Copywriting in Action.

Course content

  • Preparing a High Fidelity Communication Brief
  • Generating ideas and articulating them into headlines and visuals
  • Structuring copy according to the The Anatomy of Body Copy (and its web equivalent)
  • Building Sentences that move story forward
  • Using transitionals and rhetorical devices to engage the reader
  • Class collaboration, presentation and discussion

Ideal for

Studied over 8 weeks this course allows you the time to truly develop and improve your writing skills.

Copywriting in Action is suitable for online designers and writers, marketing and communications practitioners, commercial and educational writers and copywriters who want to be better than they already are.

You are encouraged to bring an individual work-based project to session one of the course (this is optional).

Important Information

Completion of this course will not guarantee entry into an RMIT Program.

More information

Outcome

You will learn to apply:

  • The 6 stages of the Anatomy of Body Copy
  • The 10 principles of clear, concise copywriting and 
  • The 7 rules of how to judge effective communication.
  • The work used in this course will become the basis of the work focused on in Art Direction in Action

Pre-requisites

There are no prerequisites for this course.

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil, notebook and a willingness to interact.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

Course Presenter - Nicolas Di Tempora
Nicolas is a freelance copywriter and art director for all media. He is also a qualified teacher and author of Copywriting in Action. His copywriting career includes JWT International, Saatchi & Saatchi and The Di Tempora Group. He continues to combine his copywriting and teaching expertise in designing and delivering applied communication courses to individuals as well as organisations.

Testimonial


  • The class discussion and opportunity to collaborate with like minded people was really enjoyable. Nicolas provided a great environment for discussion. Luisa

    Sessions were always well prepared and follow-up notes were extremely valuable, allowing us to continue with the development of work outside class. Vivienne

    Being able to workshop a personal project and gain feedback and insights from both the facilitator and peers; putting learnings into action immediately was a really effective and collaborative way to learn! Sian

    Well paced, yet in-depth content. Also enjoyed all the great case studies. Gives great new perspective into Copywriting. Daniel

    Nicolas knows his stuff, his materials are excellent and engaging and he's passionate about his topic, ready to update his materials as he goes. This course gave me a clear understanding of what good copywriting is and has equipped me with a plethora of useful writing skills, knowledge & tools that I will use every day. Suzanne

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Tuesday 12 February 2019

  • Code S345185
  • Start date 12.02.19
  • End date 02.04.19
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $810.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 12.02.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 19.02.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 26.02.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 05.03.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 12.03.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 19.03.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 26.03.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 02.04.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Tuesday 28 May 2019

  • Code S345185
  • Start date 28.05.19
  • End date 16.07.19
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $810.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 28.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 04.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 11.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 18.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 25.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 02.07.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 09.07.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 16.07.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Tuesday 23 July 2019

  • Code S345185
  • Start date 23.07.19
  • End date 10.09.19
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $810.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 23.07.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 30.07.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 06.08.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 13.08.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 20.08.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 27.08.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 03.09.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 10.09.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Tuesday 08 October 2019

  • Code S345185
  • Start date 08.10.19
  • End date 03.12.19
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $810.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 08.10.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 15.10.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 22.10.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 29.10.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 12.11.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 19.11.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 26.11.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Tue 03.12.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Learn more

Share