Jewellery and Accessories Making

Overview

This course is an introduction to jewellery and accessory making, including basic metal working and garment construction techniques. You will learn to design and complete wearable works, creating pendants, neckpieces, earrings or bangles or applying the techniques to garment fixings such as clasps and buttons. You will become familiar with the foundational hand working techniques of jewellery design while exploring how different types of hand sewing, garment construction and other multi-disciplinary techniques and materials can be applied to creating distinctive and unique metal pieces.

Course content

  • concepts and design development
  • making of paper patterns for construction of intended chosen works
  • cutting, folding
  • saw piercing (cut and piercing techniques)
  • wire work
  • awling, scoring, scribing, etching
  • threading, filing, polishing

Ideal for

This course is ideal for beginners who are interested in making metal jewellery, garment fixings and accessories.

Important Information

This course is delivered in the newly renovated fabrication workshop at the School of Fashion and Textiles, Brunswick Campus. For health & safety reasons, students need to wear closed toe shoes, no thongs or sandals and long hair is to be tied back and no long necklaces or scarves worn during class.

If you are travelling from out of state it is highly recommended that you wait for your course confirmation letter before booking any flights.

More information

Outcome

You will make at least one piece of work eg. pendant, clasp, neckpiece, garment fixing, earrings or bangles and more depending on ability and the nature of the piece.

You will have learned foundational handworking jewellery skills that can be replicated in a home set-up using simple hand tools, so that you can continue your jewellery practice after the course.

Materials supplied

Students work with copper sheet, mesh & wire, which are included in the course fee. Should students prefer to work in silver this must be provided at their own cost, supplier details will be provided.

Materials to bring

  • Pen/pencil and notebook for notetaking.
  • Ideas and inspiration for design of work.
  • Apron / old shirt to protect clothes.

A full list of materials will be emailed on course confirmation.

Award

Participants will be emailed an RMIT Statement of Participation on completion of the course.

Additional notes

N/A

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 23 February 2019

  • Code S350362
  • Start date 23.02.19
  • End date 16.03.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 23.02.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 02.03.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 09.03.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 16.03.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00

Saturday 03 August 2019

  • Code S350362
  • Start date 03.08.19
  • End date 24.08.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 03.08.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 10.08.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 17.08.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 24.08.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00

Saturday 09 November 2019

  • Code S350362
  • Start date 09.11.19
  • End date 30.11.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 09.11.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 16.11.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 23.11.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 30.11.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00

Monday 02 December 2019

  • Code S350362
  • Start date 02.12.19
  • End date 05.12.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 02.12.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Tue 03.12.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Wed 04.12.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00
Thu 05.12.19 10:00am 04:30pm 6.00

Learn more

Share