People and Portrait Photography

Overview

An eight week or four day intensive course outlining the techniques for photographing people. It includes choice of appropriate equipment, best use of lighting, location selection and technical considerations for formal and environmental portraits. Practical assignments will be set and two classes will be photo shoots using studio lighting and fill flash techniques.

Course content

  • Appropriate camera equipment
  • Types of portraits – formal, casual and environmental
  • Communication and capturing a mood
  • Use of colour and black and white
  • Posed and unposed photos
  • Camera angles
  • Selection and use of backgrounds and locations
  • Lighting – natural and artificial
  • Photographing children, adults and groups
  • Use of photo lab services
  • Editing, presentation and display
  • Course delivery is through a combination of practical project work, demonstration and discussion

Ideal for

Students with a basic understanding of photography who desire to learn about using their camera to photograph people.

More information

Outcome

On completion of this course, you will have acquired knowledge and developed a range of practical skills associated with photographing people.

Pre-requisites

Completion of Introduction to Photography Level 1 - Technical and Aesthetic or equivalent

Materials supplied

Studio lighting equipment. Introductory course notes.

Materials to bring

The SLR digital camera you intend to use during the course (and camera information booklet if available)

Pen and paper for note taking

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

Note: The cost of digital printing for practical assignments undertaken during the course will have to be paid by participant. Further guidelines will be given by the instructor during the course.

Completion of this course will not guarantee entry into an RMIT Program.

Course Presenter - Bryce Dunkley
Bryce has operated his professional studio for 20 years with extensive experience in portrait, wedding and commercial photography. He has published his work in three acclaimed books on the Mornington Peninsula.

Facilitator


Deborah Dorman

Deborah Dorman is a qualified professional photographer with a Cert IV in Training and Assessment. She loves sharing the joy of photography with others and has a skill for explaining the complex in easy to understand ways.
Deborah established Wild Honey Photography, a successful portrait, wedding and event photography business, in Qld in 1998. She moved to Melbourne in 2010 and commenced teaching photography at RMIT.
You'll find Deborah teaching the Introduction to Photography Level 1 and 2 as well as the People and Portrait short courses.
Deborah also runs Photography Travel Tours and regularly exhibits her fine art photography, with images in both public and private collections.

Testimonial


  • The friendly, informative atmosphere, the relaxed pace. Also adding to current knowledge and validating what I already do in a class with instant feedback. Alina

    I loved everything. Sad it's over. Belle

    Experienced teacher, great examples and very motivational. Veronika

    Practical hands on exposure to studio and location photography. Congratulations to Deborah on a detailed, insightful and practical (and fun) course. Andrew

    Fun and valuable course. I learnt so much about portraiture and people photography to build on my existing skills. Emily

    Information very useful. Detail well done.Deb is amazing, love her teaching style. Totally understandable, very patient. Thank you Deb. Zi

    In-studio experience was the most enjoyable part for me. Deb was a great instructor and has a really professional and artistic eye for details in portraiture. Thank you. Ceyda

     

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Wednesday 01 May 2019

  • Code S345183
  • Start date 01.05.19
  • End date 26.06.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus City
  • Fee $720.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 01.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 08.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 15.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 22.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 29.05.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 12.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 19.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00
Wed 26.06.19 06:30pm 09:30pm 3.00

Wednesday 10 July 2019

  • Code S345183
  • Start date 10.07.19
  • End date 28.08.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus City
  • Fee $720.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Wed 10.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 17.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 24.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 31.07.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 07.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 14.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 21.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Wed 28.08.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Thursday 24 October 2019

  • Code S345183
  • Start date 24.10.19
  • End date 12.12.19
  • Hours 24
  • Campus City
  • Fee $720.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Thu 24.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 31.10.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 07.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 14.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 21.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 28.11.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 05.12.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 12.12.19 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share